img (641) 357-8001
img 103 Main Ave, Clear Lake, IA 50428
Blue water, white sails and friends.  Clear Lake at it's finest!
9th Aug


Regatta Thank You

From the Regatta Organizing Committee:

The 2023 ILYA Melges 15 Championship Regatta was a huge success with seven races completed. A successful regatta is defined by many things, most important however are racing conditions and the hospitality of the host.  The CLYC nailed both!

Thursday started with registration and our welcoming volunteer committee: Meg Casey, Hank Anderson, Val Edison, Ann Beasley, Nancy Zanios, Jerita Nelson and Kaye Allison. Jeff and JoAnn Nicholas hosted the sailors at their home as a welcome reception thank you both for opening your home.

Thursday and Sunday the following people helped launch and recover boats: Al Ludwig, Sam Ludwig, Dave Atkinson, Byron Beasley, Laura & Jesse Tidrick, Colin Day, Casey Martin, Brad Osmundson, and Kent Pearson. Dave and Ruth Miller took care of breakfast each morning for the sailors, they’re always helpful and welcoming to our sailors.

Friday and Saturday lunches were organized by Traci Ludwig and family.   Traci, Sam and Stella served 100 lunches in 30 minutes to all of the sailors on the water, and collected the garbage. I think sailors and the race committee truly were impressed and appreciated the efficiencies in their incredible efforts.

For another layer of safety, we always have the CLYC building manned with volunteers during the day.  We want to thank Pat and Laurie Craven for loving the club, and keeping watch, along with Nancy Zanios.

We had two amazing dinners during the regatta.  We would like to thank Mark and Kristin Ebeling for hosting the Friday evening dinner by the Gyro Place at the CLYC. Jeff Brakke opened his home on Saturday; hosts Chris and Scott Long with their family and our great volunteers put on a great event! Thank you to: Kathy Norris, Kaye Allison, Jerita Nelson, Deb Sharar, Hunter Callanan, Ryan and Jenny Amble, Jennifer Schaefer, Jake and Nichole Sorensen, Jan Price, Nora Wall, Laura and Doug Marty, Todd Tesar, Jamie Zanios, Marcus and Alida Lundberg.

Sunday lunch was organized by Rebecca Nyhus, with support from Val Edison, Sheila Swift, Lindy Pearson, Dianne Kotz and Hunter Callanan.

We would like to thank Dave & Emily Haugerud, Curt Ratcliff, and Hunter Callanan for organizing the set up to make the party locations memorable. Also, Steph Burnett who was responsible for furnishings during the entire event.

Spectator boats were run by Mike Starbeck and Bill Nicholas.  Safety boat crew – Brad Oz, Steve Swift, Mark Ebeling, Brandon Conway, Ken Hanus and Paul Gordon.

The Race Committee was headed by PRO Mark Tesar with help from; Charlie MacNider, Casey Callanan and Bill Casey on Mark Set; Gerald Petersen, Steve Taylor, Ryan Wade, Dan Allen and Jake Sorensen on Signal; Tommy and Denni Sue Erickson with Dave Roberts on Gate.

Special thanks to Julie Oltrogge for lining up the extensive list of volunteers to make this event successful and to Lexa Starbeck for making a “house call” for a potentially sick sailor at the YC.

The M15 Regatta Committee: Margaret Osmundson, Mark Tesar, Stu Oltrogge, Dan Allen and Andi Tisor would like to thank the CLYC members for another great event.  As a volunteer organization, we are grateful for all the support and kindness of our members and are looking forward to sharing our club with the ILYA again next summer.  Please mark your calendars for August 11-17, 2024, when we host the ILYA Annual Championship (A, C, E and MC classes). We will need a lot of volunteers and look forward to hosting another amazing event.

Share This :

No comments so far!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.